Ballot positions set for April vote

Rantoul Press editor

Rantoul voters will have choices in three of four village races in the April election.

Multiple candidates had filed nominating petitions for mayor and village board as of Monday.

Rantoul offices to be filled are those of mayor, village clerk, three four-year terms on the village board and a two-year term on the village board.

Candidates had until 5 p.m. Wednesday to file petitions.

Chuck Smith and incumbent Neal Williams will seek the mayor’s spot. Smith’s name will appear first on the ballot as a result of a coin flip. The candidates agreed to waive the lottery process to determine the ballot position, Village Clerk Mike Graham said.

Four candidates have filed for the three four-year village board seats. A lottery was conducted Dec. 20, and the name of newcomer Sam Hall will appear first on the ballot followed by incumbents Roger Jones and Tony Brown and newcomer Jeremy Reale. Margurette Carter has not filed for re-election.

Two people — newcomers Chad Smith and Kevin Hunt — have filed for the two-year unexpired term on the village board of the late Jim Stubblefield. No lottery was necessary as Smith filed first. Herm Fogal was appointed to Stubblefield’s seat but had not filed to seek election.

Graham was the lone candidate to file for village clerk.

Two terms are expiring on the Rantoul Public Library Board, currently held by Donna Miner and Johnny Waterman, both of whom have filed for six-year terms.



Rantoul Press embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. we reserve the right to remove any comment at its discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments