Romney wins -- in Rantoul Press coverage area anyway

Rantoul Press editor

If Tuesday’s general election were confined to the Rantoul Press coverage area, Mitt Romney would be serving as president for the next four years, not Barack Obama.

Voters in this area overwhelmingly favored the Republican Romney over the Democrat incumbent Obama. Romney received 3,750 votes to 2,696 for Obama

Romney received 58 percent of the vote, although there were precincts that favored Obama.

Following are area presidential election results by precinct with Obama’s numbers listed first, then Romney’s, followed by voter turnout:  

Rantoul 1 (Rantoul fire station) — 224 to 387; 71.23 percent

Rantoul 2 (Prairie Village) — 306 to 221; 58.24 percent

Rantoul 3 (American Lutheran Church) — 187 to 245; 69.22 percent

Rantoul 4 (Thomasboro fire station) — 204 to 449; 65.53 percent

Rantoul 5 (Presbyterian Church) — 442 to 371; 67.04 percent

Rantoul 6 (Rantoul Youth Center) — 355 to 239; 52.64 percent

Compromise 1 (Gifford Community Building) — 135 to 411; 75.61 percent

Compromise 2 (I&I Antique Tractor Club, Penfield) — 50 to 115; 72.34 percent

Condit (River Valley Church of Christ) — 51 to 217; 74.86 percent

Harwood (Gifford Community Building) — 71 to 202; 69.27 percent

Kerr (I & I Antique Tractor Club) — 12 to 62; 71.15 percent

Ludlow 1 (Ludlow Community Center) — 94 to 170; 69.67 percent

Ludlow 2 (St. Christopher Episcopal Church, Rantoul) — 245 to 361; 61.71 percent

Ludlow 3 (Bethany Park Christian Church, Rantoul) — 320 to 300; 65.09 percent

Countywide, four Republicans were elected to county offices.

In close races, John Farney and Katie Blakeman were elected as auditor and circuit clerk, respectively. It marked the first time a Republican has been elected to the auditor post in more than three decades.

County Clerk Gordy Hulten and Recorder Barb Frasca were re-elected.

In uncontested races, Julia Rietz, a Democrat, and Coroner Duane Northrup, a Republican, were re-elected.

Incumbent Democrat Mike Frerichs, a Gifford native, turned back the challenge of Republican John Bambenek in the 52nd Illinois Senate District race. Frerichs won about 66 percent of the vote in Champaign County and about 60 percent in Vermilion County.

In the 104th District House race, Republican Chad Hays of Catlin defeated Michael Langendorf, an Urbana Democrat.

Hays earned about 69 percent of the vote in Vermilion County and about 59 percent in Champaign County.


Rantoul Press embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. we reserve the right to remove any comment at its discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments