Eater students honored for having the "write stuff"

Twelve students at J.W. Eater Junior High School, Rantoul, were recognized for their writing contributions in the annual Martin Luther King Jr. writing contest.

Two Eater students were also named in a writing contest sponsored by the Veterans of Foreign Wars.
King ceremony
An awards ceremony at the Martin Luther King Community Celebration will be held Saturday, Jan. 26, at Krannert Center for the Performing Arts on the University of Illinois campus, where winners and honorable mention awards will be presented.

All wrote on the subject of “Freedom.”

Named writing winners were Vincent Beard, Sean Crowley and Jared Jordahl.

Honorable mention winners are Nakyra Chapman, Jessy Garrison, Jordan Richardson, Perla Rodriguez, Corbin Russell, Nick Sizemore, Demarius Smith-Terhune, Rachel Turner and Natalie Vaughan.

VFW contest
Winners from a contest sponsored by the Veterans of Foreign Wars were Alyssa Leemaster and Aly Hastings.

Categories (2):News, Education


Rantoul Press embraces discussion of both community and world issues. We welcome you to contribute your ideas, opinions and comments, but we ask that you avoid personal attacks, vulgarity and hate speech. we reserve the right to remove any comment at its discretion, and we will block repeat offenders' accounts. To post comments, you must first be a registered user, and your username will appear with any comment you post. Happy posting.

Login or register to post comments